Saturday, May 25, 2019
  • WisdomStrength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will. - Mahatma Gandhi

Australia wins its fifth world cup title

3/29/2015 7:37:47 PM

Melbourne: Australia won the 2015 Cricket World Cup with a resounding seven-wicket victory over New Zealand in Melbourne on Sunday. This is Australia’s fifth world cup title win.

Australian team dedicated the win to Phillip Hughes, the Australian cricketer who died after being hit by a ball during a match in Sydney late last year. “For everybody in Australian cricket, it’s been a really tough few months,” said Clarke, who wore a black arm band in memory of his friend. “Tonight is certainly dedicated to our little brother and our teammate Phillip Hughes”, he further added.

New Zealand’s could manage only a total of 183 runs bowled out in 45 overs with the help of Grant Elliott  (83) and Ross Taylor’s (40) 111-run partnership. James Faulkner dismissed Taylor and then, two balls later, Corey Anderson for 0, leaving the Black Caps fully exposed at 150 for five with more than 14 overs still to bat. McCullum  got bowled on duck on his third ball. Martin Guptill, who broke a World Cup top-score record with his 237 not out against the West Indies in the quarterfinal, was bowled for 15 and Kane Williamson was easily caught on 12.

Aussie captain Michael Clarke, who announced his retirement from ODI’s topped the score board for his team with 74 runs. Steven Smith sealed victory for Australia with a four in front of more than 93,000 spectators at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Australia had 101 deliveries to spare.

Australia’s Mitchell Starc was judged as Player-of-the-tournament.


Write A Comment

  Name (required)

  Mail (required)